Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

really really stupid newbie question.. re-GPS Celphone?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

really really stupid newbie question.. re-GPS Celphone?

Hi,

Im REALLY a newbie on GPS.. few weeks ago all i know about GPS is what i see in the movies/TV (so at least i understand the basic concept of it)

I recently bought a (2nd hand) Windows Mobile phone - Samsung i780 with built in GPS while I was on my HK Trip. I immediately checked out the GPS function and was able to use Google Maps to see my location. I was blown away by the coolness factor :-) (HK has good Google Maps plus many Wifi spots so i was able to check it constantly)

Since then i tried to research a LOT about GPS, including reading various Wikis (now i know its history, how many satellites they have, and why its FREE.. something i was amazed to discover) I learned its the MAPS that you usually pay for and not the actual GPS signals (w/c i thought was amazing and quite charitable of Uncle Sam)

I researched (and still am) about how to make GPS work better on my particular phone model. (I learned of things like Enhanced GPS etc)

One of the first things i looked for of course was Philippine or even Metro Manila maps, and i encountered a few articles on MapKing, Garmin, Asiagis, etc. I even saw a software product by Garmin for Samsung phones, but its discontinued now, so i dont even know if it was FREE or you have to buy, for how much.

I definitely saw proof (mainly in youtube) that GPS navigation on my cp is possible..

w/c leads me now to my chancing by this fascinating site roadguide.ph..

I tried to go over the site, read the newbie and how to sections...

BUT...

You have to forgive me, but I guess im a Level 0 newbie, while the FAQs i see is for Level 1 newbies